• Error loading feed data
Sunday, 09 April 2017 19:53

Men’s Team Canada Announcement Featured

Rate this item
(2 votes)

TORONTO – April 9 – On behalf of the National Ball Hockey Associa­tion of Canada and the High Performance Committee we are proud to announce the 2017 Men’s Team Canada roster for the World Ball Hockey Federation Championships being hosted in the Czech Republic in late June.  Canada will be attempting to reclaim gold it won in 2013 as they prepare for the competition.


Team Canada staff was very busy scouting various events at the National Canada Cup and Provincial Tournaments.  We have a few players returning from previous Men’s teams, but have added U20 players from previous years and it is these players with international experience that will be a good foundation in preparing for this high level tournament. The players were selected, not just on high calibre skills, but for their personalities and community backgrounds as well. 


The High Performance Program has been established to create continuity consisting of strong individuals across the country with involvement in the various national teams at the adult levels.


Ball Hockey is an amazing sport and these men are truly fortunate to have the opportunity to compete with the best in the world and absorb the culture of Eastern European cities.


On behalf of the National Ball Hockey Association of Canada, we would like to congratu­late the players and staff named today, along with their provincial associations, leagues, club teams, families, coaches and officials who have helped them along the way.  With that said, it is with great pride that we present you the 2017 Men’s Team Canada players & staff:


High Performance Director – Steve Dockerty; General Manager, Mauro Cugini; Head Coach, Nelson Lajeunesse; Assistant Coach, Tyler McClure; RMT, Amanda Spence;  Doctor, Andrea Jones and Trainer, Joey McMillan


Goalies:  David Di Gironimo, Paul Zarnett  


Defensemen:  Dylan Churchwell, Jaisen Gill, Jack Scanlan, PJ Moore, Jonathan O’Hara, Joey Parks, Nick Pope, Dayton Sopha  


Forwards:   Benoit Chin, Jesse Churchwell, Josh Cousineau, Kristopher Dobinson, JP Harvey, Marcel Lafortune, Keegan Leal, Anthony Loveless, Matthew Maggliozzi, Pat Millington, Mike Porter, Jacob Robitaille 


Your Passion…Your Dedication…Play Like A Champion…Play Like Team Canada…Commit To The Culture of Excellence….We Are Canada


Read 2725 times Last modified on Monday, 10 April 2017 18:44